Permits & Services
Handgun Purchase Permit Requirements
- Be a citizen, a naturalized citizen or a resident alien;
- Be at least 21 years of age;
- Have attained at least one month’s residency in Wilkes County;
- Provide a valid driver’s license or other picture ID provided by the state of North Carolina, with current address;
- Must apply in person.
- Must be able to properly complete application process.
- Must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship.
- Must provide a list of previous addresses for the past 10 years.
- Must be of good moral character.
- Must not have any pending charges or unserved papers.
- Must pass criminal history background check.
- A criminal background check must be performed before granting of permit.
Permit to purchase a handgun costs five dollars ($5.00) and you may obtain up to 5 permits at one time.
Permit to purchase a handgun is valid for a period of five (5) years from date of issue, unless your address changes.
Online Handgun Purchase Permits
You can now apply for a purchase permit on-line, follow the link below…
Concealed Handgun Permits
As of December 1, 1995, certain residents of North Carolina may be eligible to obtain a permit which would allow them to carry a concealed handgun under certain conditions. No other weapons can be carried concealed pursuant to this permit. Once issued, the permit is valid throughout the state of North Carolina for a period of 5 years, unless it is revoked.
In order to acquire a concealed handgun permit, an individual must apply to the Sheriff’s Office in the county you live in.
The Wilkes County Sheriff’s Office will be accepting applications for Concealed Handgun Permits by appointment only. This applies to New and Renewal applications.
Once completing your North Carolina Firearms Safety Course (which must be taught by an instructor approved by the North Carolina Training Standards Commission) you will need to contact the Wilkes County Sheriff’s Office at 336-903-7600 to set up an appointment.
On-Line Concealed Carry Permit Application:
If you are applying for a NEW Concealed Handgun Permit you will need to bring the following to your appointment:
- Valid North Carolina Driver’s License (showing your correct address).
- Original certificate of completion for firearms safety course.
- DD-214 or similar proof of military discharge status for applicants that have previously served in the military. (we need a copy of your DD-214 forms for every tour of duty).
- For your convenience all paperwork will be filled out for you when you arrive for the appointment.
Must be eligible to own, posses or receive a firearm under the provisions of State or Federal Law. See N.C. Firearm Laws. Deniable offenses include but are not limited to:
- All assault charges
- Carry concealed weapons charges
- Numerous DWI charges and any DWI within the past 3 years
- Any felony conviction
- Any drug conviction in the past 5 years
- Any assault on law enforcement officer
- Any delay or resist/obstruct charge
If making application to RENEW a concealed handgun permit you would not need to bring another copy of your Firearms Safety Course Certificate or DD-214 form, unless you have completed another term of military service. A criminal background check will be conducted on ALL applicants. In order to be approved to receive a concealed handgun permit, an applicant must, among other things:
Be a citizen of the United States(born or naturalized)
- Be at least 21 years of age;
- Have been a resident of Wilkes County for the past 30 days prior to filing the application.
- Not suffer from any physical or mental infirmity which would prevent the safe handling and operation of a firearm;
- Successfully complete an approved firearms training and safety course.
Concealed Handgun Permit Cost:
- First time applications – $90.00, non-refundable permit/ fingerprint fee
- Renewal applications – $75.00 (if fingerprints are not on file $85.00)
You will be notified by phone when your permit is ready to be picked up. Permits will be picked up in person at the Wilkes County Sheriff’s Office Monday-Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm. You must bring your valid North Carolina Driver’s License in order to pick up your permit. If an applicant’s permit is denied they will receive a written explanation from the Sheriff of Wilkes County within 90 days.
It is the applicant’s responsibility to renew the permit before it expires. The permit will expire at 12:00am on the date listed on the card. However a new law (G.S. 14-415.16 (e) has been passed that states if a permitee does not apply to renew the permit prior to its expiration date, but does apply to renew the permit within 60 days after the permit expires, the Sheriff may waive the requirement of taking another firearms safety and training course. This does not extend the expiration date of the permit. And the cost will be $80.00. You can renew your permit up to 90 days prior to the expiration date. If a permit expires, an individual may not carry his or her weapon concealed until a new permit has been received by the applicant.
The state of North Carolina does not honor out of state permits when it comes up for renewal, your applications will be considered new. However North Carolina has reciprocity with other states. Those states recognizing North Carolina’s concealed handgun permittees will automatically be granted reciprocity for carrying concealed handguns within North Carolina. The states granting such reciprocity, recognized by North Carolina, will be a constantly changing list.
THE DO’S AND DON’TS OF CARRYING A CONCEALED HANDGUN:
Your permit to carry a concealed handgun must be carried along with valid identification whenever the handgun is being carried concealed about your person or vehicle.
When approached or addressed by any officer, you must disclose the fact that you have a valid concealed handgun permit and inform the officer that you are in possession of a concealed handgun. You should not attempt to draw or display either your weapon or your permit to the officer unless and until the officer directs you to do so. Your hands are to be kept in plain view and you should not make any sudden movements.
Upon the request of any law enforcement officer, you must display both the permit and valid identification.
You may not, with or without a permit, carry a concealed weapon while consuming alcohol or while alcohol or any controlled substances are in your blood unless the controlled substance was obtained legally and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts.
You must notify the Sheriff who issued the permit of any address change within thirty days of the change of address.
If the permit is lost or destroyed, you must notify the Sheriff who issued the permit and apply for a duplicate permit by submitting a notarized statement to that effect along with the required fee of $15.00. Do not carry a handgun without it.
Even with a permit, you may not carry a concealed handgun in the following areas:
- Any law enforcement or correctional facility
- Any space occupied by state or federal employees;
- A financial institution
- Any premises where the carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited by the posting of a statement by the controller of the premises
- Educational property
- Areas of assemblies, parades, funerals, or demonstrations
- Places where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed
- State occupied property
- Any state or federal courthouse
- In any area prohibited by federal law
Any local government building if the local government has adopted an ordinance and posted signs prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons.
If you are in a vehicle and stopped by a law enforcement officer, you should put both hands on the steering wheel, announce you are in possession of a concealed handgun and state where you have it concealed, and that you are in possession of a permit. Do not remove your hands from the wheel until instructed to do so by the officer.
Fingerprinting and Incident Reports
The administrative office staff at the Wilkes County Sheriff’s Office will be happy to assist the public with fingerprinting for employment and various other reasons. Please have your valid identification and fingerprint cards with you when you come to be printed. There is a $10.00 fee for this service. This service is offered Monday thru Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. If you have questions, please feel free to contact us at (336) 903-7600.
Copies of Incident Reports
You may obtain copies of incident reports Monday thru Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30pm at 201 Curtis Bridge Road. Wilkesboro. A member of the office staff will assist you in locating the correct report. The public is charged $1.00 for copies of reports.
Method Of Payment For All Transactions
Cash Only (division does not maintain funds to make change)